Customer Reviews from 2015

Reviews and Testimonials from 2015

At Solar Entertainments we are very proud that a great deal of our work comes via recommendation from previous customers.

Below are genuine customer reviews and testimonials. Thank you to every one of our customers who have taken the time to comment on our services. We appreciate it greatly!

Please click headings below to read each review


30th Dec 2015 Shiningford Manor, Ashbourne

Birthday Party Karaoke & PA Hire


We hired a karaoke set up which allowed us to also plug in an electric guitar and an electric drum kit. The equipment sounded excellent and was exactly what we needed. Dave was really helpful and professional in advising what gear we needed and in ensuring that we understood how it all worked. Things couldn't have gone any better... Would highly recommend. Many thanks.

Simon Reid

29th November 2015 Cragg Hall, Wetherby

Hen Party DIY Karaoke Hire


As an event planner I deal with many different suppliers and have to say Dave was one of the best, was so helpful, friendly and his customer service was first class. We hired a karaoke machine for a private party and it was excellent quality, we could choose all the songs beforehand from a huge up-to-date catalogue and they delivered, set up and showed us how to operate it all on the day. Would highly recommend them and thanks again Dave.

Sue White

14th November 2015 Private venue, Retford

60th Birthday DIY Karaoke Hire


First class service. Arrived on time, setup was very quick. Very clear and concise information given.

Carol Gallagher

24th October 2015 Riverside Club, Chesterfield

30th Birthday Disco & Karaoke


Dave was lovely from day one, extremely fast responses to all enquiries and grade A professional service from the word go. The equipment was great from the lights to the karaoke down to the songs - super modern tracks right down to the oldies on both music played and karaoke. You can make a request list for the night including songs you don't want which is great if like me you've got songs that grate on you! Top chap and top service from first contact to the end of the event, thoroughly recommended :)

Jen Salt

23rd Oct 2015 East Midlands Conference Centre

Fantasycon 2015 Karaoke Hire

23rd Oct 2015 East Midlands Conference Centre

Just a quick note to say thanks so much for your help at the Fantasy Con karaoke session. You were easily the most professional, easy to deal with and well set up karaoke operator we've ever dealt with. We had a brilliant night, with lots of (slightly off key) singing, so thanks so much for making it so easy.

Rob Power (Rebellion Publishing)

19th September 2015 Merchant's Hall, York

Wedding Disco

19th September 2015 Merchant's Hall, York

Wedding disco Merchant Hall York September 2015Thank you for a great event. Dave was a pleasure to work with, he responded to queries quickly, was very professional and the evening went really smoothly. Thanks again.

Sarah & Adam

18th September 2015 Chill Bar, Barnsley

18th Birthday Disco

18th September 2015 Chill Bar, Barnsley

18th birthday disco Chill Champagne Bar Barnsley September 2015Would definitely recommend Solar entertainments Dave was professional and organised from the minute I contacted him to the night of the party…. The playlist was submitted and played also requests on the night my 18 year old daughter whose disco party it was enjoyed the music.

Paula Harding

29th August 2015 Tudor Barn, Warsop

Wedding Disco

29th August 2015 Tudor Barn, Warsop

Wedding disco Tudor Barn Warsop August 2015Dave turned up on time, got setup with no fuss and handled everything we asked. Before hand we sent him a list of tracks to play and he found all of them and had them lined up. Throughout the night he got everyone dancing and took requests. Could not recommend him highly enough, absolute 5 star service thanks for everything.

Aaron & Leanne

29th August 2015 Private house, Mansfield

Garden Party DIY Karaoke Hire

Great service - very personal yet professional. Equipment was just what was needed for our outdoor party. Very quick refund of the deposit after the event. Would definitely use again.

Simon Vickers

15th August 2015 Castle Farm, Knaresborough

Christening DIY Karaoke Hire

Christening DIY karaoke hire Knaresborough August 2015Great service, great equipment and greater fun, thank you for making our daughters christening extra special!

Deborah Richardson

1st August 2015 Private Venue, Horsforth, Leeds

40th Birthday DIY Karaoke Hire

Brilliant service from Dave and karaoke system was perfect - great choice of songs, great sound, great kit. I would highly recommend for your next party.

Stella St David-Smith

24th July 2015 Mansfield Manor Hotel, Mansfield

Wedding PA & DJ Equipment Hire

24th July 2015 Mansfield Manor Hotel, Mansfield

Can not recommend Dave enough! Great customer service from the first email. Catered to all our needs and even saved the day when one of my guests broke a speaker. Completely recommended.

Amy Harrison

10th July 2015 Private Venue, Sheffield

50th Birthday DIY Karaoke Hire

Highlight of the party! I thought a few of my friends might have a turn or two and ended up having to pull the plug on the machine at 4am as the sun was coming up…

Lucy McKane

23rd June 2015 Private Venue, Littleover

Leaver's Party Disco & Karaoke

I had a party for my 16 year old daughter this week that Dave provided the disco and karoke for. He instilled me with confidence through his communication prior to the event, ensuring me we would have everything we needed for a good night. On the day he arrived two hours before to ensure a thorough set up. He made his equipment and lighting fit perfectly into our home giving the evening a real party disco atmosphere. Dave was fantastic and the teens danced all night and queued up to sing! I can not recommend his services enough and would definitely use Solar Entertainments again. A very professional company. Thank you Dave.

Jacqueline Brown

20th June 2015 Riber Hall, Matlock

Hen Party DIY Karaoke Hire

20th June 2015 Riber Hall, Matlock

Hen Party DIY karaoke hire Riber Hall June 2015Dave provided an excellent, efficient and friendly service. The kareoke and lighting equipment was fantastic and easy to use and provided hours of fun for our large Hen party. I would highly recommend Solar Entertainments.

Kate Andrews

6th June 2015 Riber Hall, Matlock

Hen Party DIY Karaoke Hire

6th June 2015 Riber Hall, Matlock

Very helpful and smoothly run service. On time both at collection and delivery and gave an excellent tutorial on how equipment worked. We had a great night as a result. Excellent up to date playlists as well!

Heather Hill

23rd May 2015 Milton Community Ctr, Cambridge

Family Party Disco & Karaoke

Dave was very punctual, nothing was too much trouble and everyone had a really good time. Music was, as we'd requested, for all ages, was lovely to see the younger children taking part in the karaoke. We will definitely be contacting you again for future parties. Would highly recommend your service, really good value for money.

Sue Hooton

16th May 2015 Hollinsend Cricket Club, Sheffield

18th Birthday Disco

I can not recommend Dave too highly. He was the DJ for my sons 18th birthday and he was brilliant. We had a late start due to my sons cricket match finishing late and Dave was unable to set up until the lads had vacated part of the cricket club - but he more than met the challenge. He set up the sound and lights in record time and really got the party going. We left the choice of music up to him and he was great - he had everyone on the dance floor all night. Dave really made the party and we will definitely use him at our next celebration.

Cheryl

9th May 2015 Roaches Hall, Upper Hulme, Leek

Wedding DIY Karaoke & PA Hire

Dave was really responsive from the word go and was so accommodating to our needs. Not only that, he also agreed to help us with relatively short notice and delivered the kit on time and gave full clear instructions. Really pleased with the service we got. Dave is a star.

Nic Stacey

3rd May 2015 Tissington Hall, Ashbourne

Wedding Disco & Karaoke

3rd May 2015 Tissington Hall, Ashbourne

Thank you so much to Dave for being the perfect wedding DJ - the party was so much fun, the music was exactly what we asked for and the karaoke went down a storm with all ages!! He let the room lead his song choices, and not once did he interrupt the flow of the night or voice over any songs with standard 'dj waffle'! Great value service, and highly recommended by both of us :-).

Mike & Anita

25th April 2015 Unstone Community Hall

80's Themed 40th Birthday Disco

40th birthday 1980s themed disco at Fred Hopkinson Memorial Hall in Unstone April 2015Just wanted to say a massive thank you for your hard work and making the night one to remember x Everyone said how much they enjoyed it x Wouldn't hesitate to book you again for future parties x Thanks again!

Clare & Andy

18th April 2015 Shiningford Manor, Ashbourne

Hen Party DIY Karaoke Hire

We hired out karaoke for my sisters hen weekend, all the girls loved it! Great value for money, set up quickly and explained in full how to use it! Huge variety of songs to use and easy to find and sing. Will definitely use when visiting again. Thanks very much.

Veronica Hunter

11th April 2015 Dore & Totley Golf Club, Sheffield

50th Birthday Disco

11th April 2015 Dore & Totley Golf Club, Sheffield

Totally professional from start to finish. Music choice was superb and helped to make a fantastic evening.

David Stevenson

4th April 2015 Royal British Legion, Repton

40th Birthday Disco & Karaoke

Solar Entertainments provided disco and karaoke for my 40th party. Dave was polite, courteous and did a great job on the night at playing my favourite tunes and co-ordinating the karaoke. Thanks very much, job very well done and everyone had a great time.

Catherine Grainger

3rd April 2015 The Willows, Thirsk

18th Birthday DIY Karaoke Hire

Solar entertainments offered a fabulous, professional service and I would have no hesitation in recommending them and would definitely use them again.

Karen Nanton

28th March 2015 HCYA Hall, Sheffield

40th Birthday Disco

28th March 2015 HCYA Hall, Sheffield

Dave turned up on time and set up in a very unobtrusive way for my wife's 40th birthday party. He played music that was suitable for the occasion starting with children's stuff early on and then moving on to good dancing music later when most of the children had left. He had all the music requested and was friendly and helpful throughout.

Tim Milson

13th February 2015 Denton Hall, Ilkley

Wedding DIY Karaoke Hire

13th February 2015 Denton Hall, Ilkley

From start to finish Dave was brilliant. We hired a DIY Karaoke system on 13th February 2015 for the party we were having the night before our wedding. I first enquired on the internet after finding Solar Entertainment on the internet. I got a reply straight away, even though it was late at night. Dave explained our options and was happy to advise us on the equipment we needed, and was flexible bringing extra speakers etc with him on the day of setting up but he only charged us for what we used. He was very flexible about timings for setting up and coming back for his equipment. He was very punctual and professional setting up and showing my husband how to use the equipment. When he came to pick up the equipment on Sunday he arrived on time and was really friendly. The service provided by Solar Entertainments was fantastic and we would happily recommend them to anyone.

Nicola and Greg Shilton

31st January 2015 Hazel Grove Golf Club, Stockport

30th Birthday Disco & Karaoke

31st January 2015 Hazel Grove Golf Club, Stockport

30th birthday disco and karaoke Hazel Grove Golf Club Stockport January 2015I had my 30th party on Saturday and everyone at the party was so impressed with how great and professional dave was at the party. I thought it was a fantastic combination of karaoke and music and everyone thoroughly enjoyed it!! I was also very impressed with the amount of contact and organisation before my party too and would definitely recommend this company for all future events.!

Maxine Sandels

17th January 2015 Haggler's Corner, Sheffield

30th Birthday Disco

17th January 2015 Haggler's Corner, Sheffield

30th birthday disco Haggler's Corner Sheffield January 2015We booked Dave for my 30th birthday party. Everything was arranged easily via email, playlists, venue details etc and he arrived early to set up which was really helpful. He gladly took our sometimes obscure requests and several party guests commented how much they'd enjoyed the music!

Joanna Curtis

9th January 2015 Castle Cliffe, Monsal Head

40th Birthday DIY Karaoke Hire

9th January 2015 Castle Cliffe, Monsal Head

Very efficient service, Dave arrived on time, set up the karaoke system and had optional lighting available that was suitable for the room in use. He took the time to go through each piece of equipment and possible problem solving for myself who is not very technology minded! Also an instruction guide was left that we did use once. Dave left his number to contact if we required it, however we were fully up and running and singing our hearts out. This was a worthwhile contribution to my 40th birthday weekend away with family and friends. The karaoke machine was collected on time and I would recommend this efficient and friendly service in the future.

Amanda Lowe